Strategic guidelines

Strategic guidelines

Nuclear naval propulsion

Our core business

Designing, building and providing support for operating the nuclear steam supply systems in the French Navy's nuclear-powered ships (aircraft carriers and nuclear submarines) over the long term: these are the core activities and the reason for TechnicAtome’s existence.

To meet the high standards of this mission, TechnicAtome has for many years been maintaining and developing a range of technical skills and the on-going ability to adapt to changes in the French Navy’s operational requirements.

Aircraft carrier Charles de Gaulle

© Marine Nationale / Défense (ECPAD)

In addition to this central pillar are complementary activities identified in the Cap TA strategic plan defined in 2018:

Strategic guidelines

Civil nuclear energy

State-of-the-art engineering for civil nuclear power.

Small Modular Reactor (SMR)

Drawing on more than 45 years of experience in compact nuclear reactors, TechnicAtome brings its advanced engineering skills to bear on nuclear research, particularly for the production of the Jules Horowitz Reactor.

TechnicAtome plays a central role in the SMR France (Small Modular Reactor)programme, as part of a consortium with EDF, CEA and NAVAL Group.

Strategic guidelines

Defence nuclear facility engineering

Technical expertise for Defence nuclear facility engineering.

TechnicAtome uses its expertise in complex systems engineering for certain infrastructures of the CEA (the Laser MégaJoule) and the French Ministry of the Armed Forces (for the redevelopment of nuclear ports). For this, the company also makes use of its command of nuclear safety and its experience as a technical and industrial operator.

Laser MegaJoule

© CEA-BEVIEW

Orientations stratégiques

Orientations stratégiques

La propulsion navale nucléaire

Notre cœur de métier

Concevoir, réaliser et assurer le soutien à l’exploitation des chaufferies nucléaires des bâtiments de la Marine Nationale à propulsion nucléaire (porte-avions et sous-marins nucléaires) dans la longue durée, tels sont le cœur des activités et la raison d’être de TechnicAtome.

Pour satisfaire le haut niveau d’exigence de cette mission, TechnicAtome entretient et fait progresser un ensemble de compétences techniques diverses depuis de nombreuses années, ainsi qu’une capacité d’adaptation permanente aux évolutions des besoins opérationnels de la Marine Nationale.

Porte-avions Charles de Gaulle

© Marine Nationale / Défense (ECPAD)

A ce pilier central viennent s’ajouter des activités complémentaires identifiées dans le plan stratégique Cap TA défini en 2018 :

Orientations stratégiques

Le nucléaire civil

Une ingénierie de pointe pour le nucléaire civil.

Small Modular Reactor (SMR)

S’appuyant sur plus de 45 ans d’expérience dans les réacteurs nucléaires compacts, TechnicAtome exploite ses compétences d’ingénierie de pointe sur le nucléaire de recherche, en particulier pour la réalisation du Réacteur Jules Horowitz.

TechnicAtome joue d’autre part un rôle central dans le programme SMR France (Small Modular Reactor), en consortium avec EDF, le CEA et NAVAL Group.

Orientations stratégiques

L’ingénierie des installations nucléaires de Défense

Une expertise technique pour l’ingénierie des installations nucléaires de Défense.

TechnicAtome met en œuvre son expertise dans l’ingénierie des systèmes complexes pour certaines infrastructures du CEA (le Laser MégaJoule) ou du ministère des Armées (pour le réaménagement des ports nucléaires). L’entreprise s’appuie aussi, pour cela, sur sa maîtrise de la sécurité nucléaire et sur son expérience d’opérateur technique et industriel.

Laser MégaJoule

© CEA-BEVIEW