Assistance with the engineering and operation of Laser MegaJoule

TechnicAtome has been the CEA’s strategic partner since the start of the project for the design, follow-up of production, operation and maintenance of the Laser Mégajoule.

TechnicAtome proposes and applies know-how in the management of new nuclear facility projects to ensure the technical, schedule and financial control of the project.

© CEA-MS

Objectives

The Laser Mégajoule (LMJ) is a unique tool in the world, contributing to the “Simulation Programme”, to guarantee the safety and reliability of nuclear weapons for deterrence, while complying with the Nuclear Test Ban Treaty ratified by France. Its objective is to reproduce physical conditions in a “laboratory” that are similar to those encountered during the nuclear operation of weapons. At the same time, it allows us to further our knowledge in unexplored areas of matter science and plasma physics.

Main services

  • Project management assistance for project engineering: Physical and software interfaces, design studies and mechanical calculations, facility layout, synthesis and design studies of auxiliaries, implementation of Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) software and associated processes, performance management, monitoring of industrial contracts and performance, safety and security studies.
  • Support for the facility’s increase in power (eventually 22 Laser Chains): preparation of commissioning and maintenance operations, coordination of activities to maintain operational conditions, management of obsolescence.
Laser MegaJoule (LMJ) is a major facility of the Simulation programme. It is used to study, on a small scale, the behaviour of materials in extreme conditions similar to those reached during the nuclear operation of weapons | © CEA-M

© CEA-MS

Latest major events:

  • 2014 : LMJ commissioning and first experiment (one Laser Chain)
  • 2017 : First LMJ / PETAL experiment for academic research (two Laser Chains)
  • 2019: First LMJ fusion experiment (six laser chains)
  • 2020 : Ten Laser chains assembled

Assistance à l’ingénierie et à l’exploitation du Laser MégaJoule

TechnicAtome est le partenaire stratégique du CEA depuis le début du projet pour la conception, le suivi de la réalisation, de l’exploitation et de la maintenance du Laser Mégajoule

TechnicAtome propose et déploie un savoir-faire en conduite de projets d’installations nucléaires nouvelles pour assurer la maitrise technique, calendaire et financière du projet.

© CEA-MS

Objectifs

Le Laser MégaJoule (LMJ) est un outil unique au monde contribuant au « Programme Simulation » pour garantir la sûreté et la fiabilité des armes nucléaires de la dissuasion, tout en respectant le Traité d’Interdiction des Essais Nucléaires ratifié par la France. Son objectif est de reproduire en « laboratoire », des conditions physiques proche de celles rencontrées lors du fonctionnement nucléaire des armes. Il permet par la même occasion d’approfondir la connaissance dans des domaines inexplorés de la science de la matière ou encore de la physique des plasmas.

Prestations principales

  • Assistance à maîtrise d’œuvre pour l’ingénierie du projet : Interfaces physiques et logicielles, études de conception et calculs mécaniques, aménagement de l’installation, synthèse et études de conception des servitudes, mise en œuvre d’un logiciel PLM (Product Lifecycle Management) et des processus associés, maîtrise des performances, suivi des contrats industriels et des réalisations, études de sécurité et sûreté.
  • Accompagnement de la montée en puissance de l’installation (22 Chaînes Laser à terme): préparation des interventions de mise en service et de maintenance, coordinations des activités de maintien en conditions opérationnelles, gestion d’obsolescences.
Le Laser MégaJoule (LMJ) est une installation majeure du programme Simulation. Il sert à étudier, à toute petite échelle, le comportement des matériaux dans des conditions extrêmes similaires à celles atteintes lors du fonctionnement nucléaire des armes | © CEA-MS

© CEA-MS

Derniers événements majeurs :

  • 2014 : Mise en service et 1ère expérience LMJ (1 Chaîne Laser)
  • 2017 : 1ère expérience LMJ / PETAL pour la recherche académique (2 Chaînes Laser)
  • 2019 : 1ère expérience de fusion LMJ (6 Chaînes Laser)
  • 2020 : 10 Chaînes Laser montées